Local events

Find local children friendly events in Saffron Walden, Bishops Stortford, Great Dunmow and surrounding villages. Thanks to all who help compile the list particularly the Saffron Walden and the Bishop's Stortford Tourist Information Centres .

If you would like to see your local event here please enter details in on the "contact" page - see top menu bar

 

September 2017
Life in the Ice Age exhibition

Life in the Ice Age exhibition

Friday, 22 September to Sunday, 14 January

The Life in the Ice Age exhibition at Saffron Walden Museum opens on Saturday 12 August 2017 and continues until Sunday 14 January 2018. This exhibition explores the ice ages and is a collaboration between the Travelling Natural History Museum (TNHM) and Saffron Walden Museum.

Find out about the ice ages: ice sheets, glaciers and times of warmer weather. You can meet Stone Age man and discover ice age creatures. Stone tools and fossils from the collections of Saffron Walden Museum and the Travelling Natural History Museum will be on show. See fossils and models of animals that were found around the world during the ice ages, such as sabre-toothed tiger and cave bear, and those that lived in Britain during cold glacial and warm interglacial periods over 10,000 years ago. These include glacial woolly mammoth and woolly rhinoceros fossils and interglacial elephant, giant ox and hippopotamus fossils. TNHM is also exhibiting models of ice age creatures. You can meet a life sized sabre-toothed tiger and a European wolf. Visitors can also view a woolly mammoth however this model is not life sized because it would not fit into our exhibition gallery!

Three days of events will be held to accompany the exhibition.

Events
Stone Age Day on 16 August when visitors can meet Stone Age man. A re-enactor will be setting up camp in the museum grounds and showing us what life was like in the Stone Age. You can even touch some tools made thousands of years ago.

Woolly Mammoth Fun Days on 25 and 26 October when visitors can take part in craft activities and learn about these enormous creatures.

The activities are drop in sessions, 11am – 1pm and 2pm – 4pm. Children must bring an adult and entry fees apply.

Event details

November 2017

Saffron Screen November & December 2017

Wednesday, 01 November to Sunday, 31 December

THE GENERAL (U)
Sun 5th November 3pm
Buster Keaton’s brilliant silent comedy is packed with thrills, visual gags and plenty of action – with a live piano accompaniment from Gail Ford.

THE LEGO NINJAGO MOVIE (U)
Sat 18th & Sun 19th November 2pm, Sat 25th November 3pm & Sun 26th November 2pm.
A fabulous combination of slick animation and clever comedy in this new Lego film as six brave young ninjas defend their island home against the threat of destruction by super-villain Garmadon

ICE AGE (U)
Sun 26th November 11am (Cinema for Tinies). In the first of the Ice Age films, Manny, Sid and Diego find a human child and try to return it to its own tribe. Cinema for Tinies – enjoy the cinema without worrying about wriggling or noise. And afterwards head to the Saffron Walden Museum for a special trail and their exhibition Life in the Ice Age

MY LITTLE PONY: THE MOVIE (U)
Sat 2nd & Sun 3rd December 2pm. A colourful and lively animation with an all-star voice cast. A dark force threatens Ponyville, and the Mane 6 embark on an unforgettable journey beyond Equestria.

THOR: RAGNAROK (12A tbc)
Sat 9th December 3pm. The god of thunder must race against time to prevent the all-powerful Hela from destroying the Asgardian civilisation.

THE NUTCRACKER
Sun 10th December 2pm. An encore broadcast of the Royal Opera House classic festive ballet as a young girl’s enchanted present leads her on a wonderful Christmas adventure.

THE SON OF BIGFOOT (PG)
Sat 16th & Sun 17th December 2pm. A fun family animation about a teenager who sets off to find his father – only to discover that his dad is in fact Bigfoot, hiding in the forest.

THE STAR (PG tbc)
Fri 22nd, Sat 23rd & Sun 24th December 3pm; A festive animation about a group of eccentric animals who set off on an adventure to follow a magnificent star, and find themselves unlikely heroes in the nativity story.

PADDINGTON 2 (PG tbc)
Tue 26th, Wed 27th, Thu 28th, Fri 29th, Sat 30th & Sun 31st December 3pm Mon 1st January 3pm. In this live-action sequel to the brilliant 2014 film, Paddington wants to buy Aunt Lucy a birthday present but the odd jobs he takes on result in the inevitable hilarious mishaps.

Event details

Christmas events at Audley End

Saturday, 25 November to Monday, 25 December

Christmas specials at Audley End Miniature Railway.
www.audley-end-railway.co.uk and An Audience with Father Christmas at Audley End House & Gardens
www.english-heritage.org.uk/audley

December 2017

Church Mice

Monday, 18 December

Church Mice 10.00-11.30. New Room St Mary the Virgin and All Saints Church, Debden for parents/carers and children under 5. Contact Ursula Lyons 01799 543164

Christmas, Crib and Carol Services

Sunday, 24 December to Monday, 25 December

24 All Saints’ Church, Stansted Road, Bishop’s Stortford 16.30 pm Welcome to Christmas - a Crib Service for all the family. 22.30 Carols; 23.00 Midnight Mass

24 Children's Crib Service 17.00 St Mary the Virgin and All Saints Church, Debden (Adults and children welcome to dress as shepherds, angels wise men etc.)

24 Christmas Eve Crib Service at
St Mary's, Widdington at 15.00
All Saints, Rickling at 16.00
St Mary's, Newport at 17.00

25 All Saints’ Church, Stansted Road, Bishop’s Stortford 10.00 Sung all-age Mass with carols

January 2018

Events at Rhodes

Monday, 01 January to Sunday, 25 March

Play in a Day – Tuesday 13th Feb at 19.00 Phoenix Theatre School in association with Rhodes Arts Complex are looking for primary aged children to join us for the challenge of creating a fun new piece of theatre in just one day!

Dear Zoo – Thurs15th Feb at
13.30 & 15.30, Friday 16th Feb
at 11.00 & 14.00 This
production will delight all
those who have read the book (both young and old) as it unfolds with child- engaging puppets, music and lots of audience interaction.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream –
Sunday 25th February at 15.00
Join Ballet Theatre UK as we enter the enchanting and magical realm of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. We present a ballet set to charm the whole family.

A Tiger’s Tale - Thurs 8th March at 13.30 & 16.30, Friday 9th March 10.30 & 13.30 Based on the extraordinary story of Fenella, the Holmfirth Tiger - a high spirited balancing act of circus, puppetry, live music and song. Age 4+

Red Riding Hood and the Wolf – Saturday 24th March at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Time for bed. Tuck yourself in. This is where Robyn’s story begins. She takes a book and starts to read. But she can’t relate to Red Riding Hood, sugar and spice and all things nice. There are two sides to every tale, Age 7+

Paddington 2 (PG) – Friday 12thJan at 16.30, Tues 16th Jan at 18.00 and Thursday 18th January at 14.00 and 16.30 Paddington, now happily settled with the Brown family, picks up a series of odd jobs to buy the perfect present for his Aunt Lucy's 100th birthday.

My Little Pony – The Movie (U) Kids for a Quid – Saturday 3rd February at 11am After a dark force conquers Canterlot, the Mane 6 embark on an unforgettable journey beyond Equestria
Beauty and the Beast Sing –a-Long – Wednesday 14th February at 10.30 and 13.30. Sing along with Belle in this event in association with The Play People.

Museum Trail – All through February half term from 10.00-17.00; The museum opens its doors this half term with a brand new trail! A fun way to learn more about the treasures the Museum holds. Suitable from ages 3+ (if assisted) Free Entry

St Valentine’s Day Craft – Monday 12th – Wednesday 14th February, 11.00-15.00 Make a Valentine’s Day card for someone special at our card making workshop! Just drop in. Suitable for children aged 5+. £2 per child

Mad March Hare Craft – Saturday 17th February, 11.00-15.00. This Spring join in with our Mad March Hare craft activity! £2 per child.

01279 710200

Event details

Films at SaffronScreen

Films at SaffronScreen

Monday, 01 January to Saturday, 03 February

PADDINGTON 2 (PG)
Mon 1st Jan 3pm Sat 6th & Sun 7th Jan 2pm

JUSTICE LEAGUE (12A)
Sat 13th Jan 5pm Sun 14th Jan 2pm

WONDER (PG)
Sat 20th Jan 2pm & 5pm

STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI (12A tbc)
Fri 26th Jan 8pm Sat 27th & Sun 28th Jan 3pm

CARS 3 (U) (Cinema for Tinies)
Sun 28th Jan 11am

FERDINAND (PG tbc)
Sat 3rd, Sun 4th, Sat 10th & Sun 11th Feb 2pm Mon 12th Feb 3pm

JUMANJI: WELCOME TO THEJUNGLE (12A tbc)
Thurs 15th & Fri 16th Feb 3pm

COCO (PG tbc)
Sat 17th & Sun 18th Feb 2pm Sat 24th Feb 3pm Sun 25th Feb 2pm

PITCH PERFECT 3 (12A tbc)
Sat 17th & Sun 18th Feb 5pm

Event details

Snow White

Friday, 12 January to Saturday, 20 January

12-14 and 19-20 Jan Saffron Players 2018 Pantomime - Snow White.SaffronWaldenTown Hall. Both Fridays at 19.30; both Saturdays at 14.30 and 18.30; Sunday 14th at 14.30. Tickets, £8.50 - £10 balcony, on sale to in person callers at Saffron Walden Tourist Information Centre or online at www.waldentickets.com .

Event details

Copy Date for Easter Issue of Salad Days

Friday, 26 January

February 2018

Pancake Day

Tuesday, 13 February

March 2018

Sky Dive for Grove Cottage

Sunday, 25 March

Minimum age 16 - no upper limit

EU Cookie Law

This site uses cookies to enable it to run and by using the site you are consenting to this, more about how we use cookies

Hide this message