Salad Days

Welcome to the Winter Issue of Salad Days

Read online or download

Published Articles

SEND - Landmark year.

SEND - Landmark year.

November 19

From Tees

Read

Nutrition during pregnancy

Nutrition during pregnancy

November 19

Healthy eating is always advisable. However, eating a nutritious and balanced diet is especially important if you're pregnant, or planning a pregnancy.

Read

Salad Days publishes articles on health, books, music, sport, lifesyle, science, art and more.

More articles

Saffron Screen

Sunday, 01 December to Sunday, 01 March

MALEFICENT: MISTRESS OF EVIL (PG)
Sun 8th Dec 2pm
This sequel to 2014’s story of Disney’s villain from Sleeping Beauty stars Angelina Jolie as Maleficent and Michelle Pfeiffer as Queen Ingrith.

THE ADDAMS FAMILY (PG)
Sat 14th Dec 2pm
The Addams Family is back on the big screen in the first animated comedy about the kookiest family on the block.

A SHAUN THE SHEEP MOVIE: FARMAGEDDON (U)
Sat 7th Dec 3pm, Sun 8th Dec 5pm & Fri 20th Dec 2pm
Shaun the Sheep is back on the big screen with an intergalactic adventure as he and the gang must try to return a friendly alien to her home.

MIRACLE ON 34th STREET (U)
Thurs 19th Dec 3pm
A dementia-friendly screening (but open to all) of this glorious Christmas classic about a department store Santa who has to prove that he is in fact the real old gent.

THE MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL (U)
Sat 21st Dec 3pm; Sun 22nd Dec 2pm
The Muppets’ version of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol is a glorious treat and one of the best adaptations of this festive tale. Special festive screenings with a visit from Father Christmas.
STARDOG & TURBOCAT (U)
Weds 1st & Thurs 2nd Jan 3pm
A hilarious animated adventure about a time-travelling dog, a superhero cat and an activist rabbit, voiced by Nick Frost, Luke Evans and Gemma Arterton.

A SHAUN THE SHEEP MOVIE: FARMAGEDDON (U)
Sat 4th Jan 2pm (autism-friendly screening)
Sun 26th Jan 11am (Cinema for Tinies)
Shaun the Sheep is back on the big screen with an intergalactic adventure as he and the gang must try to return a friendly alien to her home.

FROZEN II (U)
Sat 11th Jan 2pm, Sun 23rd Feb 2pm
Anna, Elsa, Kristoff, Olaf and Sven leave Arendelle and travel to an ancient, autumn-bound forest of an enchanted land, trying to uncover the origin of Elsa’s powers.

2040 (PG)
Sun 12th Jan 5pm
An optimistic documentary about the changes we can make to combat climate change, using existing technologies to improve our world.

CATS (cert tbc)
Sat 18th Jan 2pm, Sun 19th Jan 5pm, Tues 18th Feb 3pm
A thrilling film adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s smash-hit musical by Tom Hooper (Les Misérables, The King's Speech) with a star-studded cast.

JUMANJI: THE NEXT LEVEL (12A)
Sat 18th Jan 5pm, Sun 19th Jan 2pm, Thurs 20th Feb 3pm
The gang is back for another thrilling adventure as they return to Jumanji to rescue one of their own, but discover that nothing is as they expect.

STAR WARS: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER (12A tbc)
Fri 24th Jan 7.30pm, Sat 25th & Sun 26th Jan 3pm
The surviving Resistance faces the First Order once more in the final chapter of the latest Star Wars trilogy.

LITTLE WOMEN (U)
Sat 1st, Sat 8th, Mon 17th & Sat 29th Feb 3pm
Greta Gerwig’s impressive new adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s much-loved novel features a superb cast and wonderful storytelling.

SPIES IN DISGUISE (PG tbc)
Sat 15th & Sun 16th Feb 2pm
Find out what happens when a nerdy sidekick accidentally turns a super spy into a pigeon in this hilarious family animation.

THE PERSONAL HISTORY OF DAVID COPPERFIELD (PG)
Fri 21st Feb 3pm, Sat 22nd & Sun 23rd Feb 5pm, Sun 1st March 2pm
Armando Ianucci brings a wonderful comic exuberance to his freewheeling adaptation of Charles Dickens’s much-loved novel.

Event details

Saffron Walden Museum

Sunday, 01 December to Sunday, 22 March

New exhibition opens: “From Death Masks to Diaries” – exploring the many faces of portraiture. Open Tue – Sat 10am – 4.30pm, Suns and Bank Holidays 2 – 4.30pm. Adults £2.50, discounts 1.25p, children free, season tickets £8/ £4. Tel: 01799 510333. www.saffronwaldenmuseum.org .On days when the museum is closed, visitors can still explore the grounds, which include outdoor exhibits, a listening bench, and the ruins of Walden Castle.

Event details

Audley End Miniature Railway

Sunday, 01 December to Tuesday, 24 December

Enjoy the most magical Christmas Experience with your family at the Audley End Miniature Railway. Take our Santa Express deep into the woods of the Audley End Estate where you will arrive at Father Christmas’s Winter Wonderland! You will meet the big man himself, along with his VERY cheeky Elves, receive a special gift and also watch a crazy Christmas Dance! Must book: www.audley-end-railway.co.uk

Event details

Salad Days likes to publish as many events as possible which children might enjoy or that are relevant to young children. If you have an event you would like included fill in the details on the "contact" page - see top menu bar

More events

Cookies

This site would like to use cookies to enable it to run, you can choose to opt out, or continue using the site with cookies more about how we use cookies

Continue