Salad Days

Salad Days is a printed and on line magazine containing local information for parents, teachers and carers of children in Saffron Walden, Bishop's Stortford, Great Dunmow and surrounding Villages.

Read online or download

New Year Issue 2017
Christmas 2016 Issue no 68
Issue 67 Autumn 2016
summer 2016 Issue 66
Summer Half Term Issue 65

Find current and previous issues of Salad days here

More copies

Published Articles

Salad Days publishes articles on health, books, music, sport, lifesyle, science, art and more.

More articles

Saffron Screen - films for children

Tuesday, 04 April to Sunday, 30 April

Subject to final confirmation – please check our website for details

SING (U)
Thurs 6th April 3pm Sun 16th April 2pm
Mon 17th April 3pm
A sweet and breezy toe-tapping animation with a fabulous voice cast about a koala who puts on a singing competition to save his theatre.

THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (U)
Fri 14th April 3pm Sat 22nd & Sun 23rd April 2pm
Continuing the irreverent spirit of fun that made The Lego Movie a worldwide hit, Lego Batman now starts in his own witty and dazzling animated superhero story.

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST (PG tbc)
Fri 7th, Sat 8th, Sun 9th & Mon 10th April 2pm & 5pm; Tues 11th April 11am & 3pm; Weds 12th & Thurs 13th April 2pm & 5pm
A live action reworking of the classic Disney cartoon starring Emma Watson as Belle and Dan Stevens as the beast – and a fantastic cast of supporting characters.

THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS (U)
Sun 23rd April 11am – Cinema for Tinies
A fun animated comedy about the lives our pets lead after we leave for work or school each day. Cinema for Tinies – enjoy the cinema without worrying about noise or wriggling.

MOANA SING-ALONG (PG)
Sat 29th & Sun 30th April 2pm; Mon 1st May 3pm

Join us for a glorious sing-along version of this fresh and funny Disney animation about a spirited young Polynesian princes who takes to the sea to save her people from a mysterious threat.

POWER RANGERS (12A)
Sat 6th May 3pm Sun 7th May 2pm
A fun big screen reboot of the TV series as five ordinary teens must become extraordinary to save the planet from an alien threat.

SMURFS: THE LOST VILLAGE (U)
Sat 13th May 3pm Sun 14th May 2pm
In this bright, colourful and lively animation, Smurfette leads her friends on an adventure to find the Lost Village before the evil wizard Gargamel gets there.

PEPPA PIG: MY FIRST CINEMA EXPERIENCE (U)
Sat 20th May 3pm Sun 21st May 2pm
This extravaganza for pre-schoolers features nine new episodes with games, songs and dances for everyone to join in.

THE BOSS BABY (U)
Sat 27th & Tues 30th May 3pm
Thurs 1st June 3pm
A hilarious story about how a new baby’s arrival affects a family as this outrageous precocious, bad tempered baby in a dark business suit turns up, booming orders in Alec Baldwin’s deep voice

MOLLY MONSTER (U)
Mon 29th & Weds 31st May 3pm
Fri 2nd June 3pm
A delightful and gentle animated tale about young Molly who has to learn to share her parents when Mama lays an egg.

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL 2 (12A tbc)
Sat 3rd, Sun 4th & Sat 24th June 3pm
The adventures of Star-Lord, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon and the rest of the crew continue, with more humour and wacky hijinks and a whole new Awesome Mixtape.

PETER PAN (PG)
Sat 10th June 3pm
The National Theatre’s spellbinding production of JM Barrie’s magical tale flies into cinemas – a dazzling delight for all the family.

SING (U)
Sun 18th June 11am
A sweet and breezy toe-tapping animation with a fabulous voice cast about a koala who puts on a singing competition to save his theatre. Enjoy the cinema without worrying about noise or wriggling.

DIARY OF A WIMPY KID: THE LONG HAUL (PG)
Sat 1st July 3pm
Greg and his family take a road trip to attend his great grandmother’s 90th birthday – though he is really trying to get to a gamer convention. Hilarious antics inevitably ensue.

Event details

Teddies Toy Library

Monday, 24 April

New Life Church, CB11 3AQ. 10.00-12.00 Ages 0-5 years.

Transport day theme.

Event details

Walden School

Thursday, 27 April

Prep School Open Morning. We pride ourselves on delivering balanced and rounded education by energising creativity and independent thought.

Event details

Salad Days likes to publish as many events as possible which children might enjoy or that are relevant to young children. If you have an event you would like included fill in the details on the "contact" page - see top menu bar

More events

EU Cookie Law

This site uses cookies to enable it to run and by using the site you are consenting to this, more about how we use cookies

Hide this message